Raharney Hurling Club

087 2718640


Raharney, Killucan, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath


Building on the junior success of 2004 Raharney Hurling Club qualified for the 2006 senior final against Castletown Geoghegan. Captained by Johnny Greville Raharney and Castletown ended in a draw on a score of 1-09 apiece. In the replay Raharney made no mistake and won their 9th SHC title on a score of 4-05 to 2-05. The successful Raharney senior team was, Jimmy Greville, Peter Mullen, Paul Greville, Donal Carey, Johnny Greville, Brian Connaughton, Anthony Doyle, Brian Smith, Conor Jordan, Niall Flanagan, Francis Boyle, John Shaw, Alan Giles, Brendan McKeogh and Christopher Flanagan. Sub used was Pauric Connaughton for Christopher Flanagan. SCORERS – Raharney: F Boyle 2-0; N Flanagan, C Flanagan 1-0 each, B Smyth 0-2, B Connaughton 0-2 (’65’, f); J Shaw 0-1f.
Raharney reached the final of the Leinster Intermediate Club Championship having defeated the Wexford and Kilkenny intermediate champions. In the final in a rain soaked St Lomans Grounds the Kildare champions Ardclough prevailed in the final.

Raharney were county champions again in 2008 led by Niall Flanagan as captain. In the final Raharney defeated old rivals Clonkill on a score of 0-15 to 2-06. The successful Raharney senior team was Jimmy Greville; Peter Mullen, Paul Greville, Johnny Greville; Alan Giles (0-1), Conor Jordan, Anthony Doyle; Niall Flanagan (capt) (0-1), Brian Connaughton (0-2, 0-1 from a free, 0-1 from a “65”); Francis Boyle (0-2), John Shaw (0-6, 0-2 from frees, 0-1 from a “65”), Christopher Flanagan; Brendan McKeogh (0-1), Brian Smyth (0-2), David Flanagan. Subs: Padraig Connaughton (for D. Flanagan, 29 mins), Daniel Riggs (for C. Flanagan, 55 mins). In the Leinster Club Championship on the 18th November 2008 Raharney faced the renowned Ballyhale Shamrocks in the semi final. In a very competitive game Ballyhale eventually prevailed.

With the previous 4 championships having been shared between Raharney and Clonkill many Westmeath gaels hoped for a classic final. While this may not have been a classic in the purist sense the 2010 county final will surely go down in the annals of Westmeath GAA as one of the most dramatic and memorable finals for many a long year.