Crookedwood GAA


Crookedwood GAA Club, Crookedwood, Mullingar, County Westmeath, Ireland


Crookedwood affiliated to the Westmeath GAA in 1906. In 1907 we won our first Junior Championship. In 1913, we reached the Senior Final but were beaten by Raharney on the day. Crookedwood players at that time included Myles Gallagher, Paddy Reilly, Christy Duffy, Pat Murtagh, Mick Murtagh, Pat Kane, Paddy Mc Donnell, Dan Mc Cathy and Arthur Bardon. The club was active during the First World War with the last recorded fixture in 1917, but the club disbanded shortly after and did not reform until 1922. In 1924 The Wood won the Junior Crown again defeating Springfield Stars, a game which wasnt played until the following year. Players such as Pat Duffy, Jimmy Fitzsimons, Dick Clinton, Jack Mc Cormack, and Peter Mc Donnell all helped to bring the title back to Crookedwood for the second time.