St Brigid’s Hurling Club

St Brigid’s Hurling Club

Average Reviews


Naomh Brid (St Brigid’s) Hurling Club was founded in 1954.The first meetings involved Frank Mc Entegart, Larry Gavin, Michael Casey, Eddie Casey and Frank Gavin. This venture united all the young men of the area and at times there were about twenty aside playing. Larry Gavin was Chairman and Frank Mc Entegart was Secretary. In 1957 the club affiliated at Junior and Minor level, it struggled to find its feet in the early years but eventually won Junior championship and league titles in 1964.The club turned Senior in 1965 and were defeated in the semi finals of 1966 and 1967.The glory days followed in 1968 by winning a Senior title the team was captained by Colm Gavin and again in 1970, 1971, and 1972. The three in a row teams were captained by Michael Casey, Ollie Egan and Ollie Gallagher. During the same period the U 21 team won back to back titles in 1966 and 1967 and again in 1969, 1972 and 1979. Paddy Gavin was Chairman during those years. With the exception of a Senior “B” title in 1979 successes on the field of play were few and far between. The club was regraded to a newly reformed Intermediate grade in 1994 and in 1995 St Brigid’s claimed the Intermediate Championship at the expense of Delvin which was won again in 2000. Hopes of a breakthrough to Senior level has not yet happened. In the 1990’s St Brigid’s had some success at underage level when in 1995 they won the Minor “B” championship. Some of these players are still playing today. 2008 was a successful year for St Brigid’s having reached the final of the Meadow Hall Construction Intermediate Hurling Championship but was narrowly beaten by a single point to Brownstown .In 2009 we went one better and beat Turin to win the intermediate for the third time.



0 Rating
0 Favorite
0 Share


Claim Listing

Is this your business?

Claim listing is the best way to manage and protect your business.